Posted by: whimsicallibrarians | August 29, 2007

Exciting first post

Welcome to Fairfield Woods Branch Library.  I’ve just moved back to Connecticut, from Florida, to take the branch librarian position here.  What a great library this is and so active.  During my interview they told me this was one of the busiest libraries in the state and boy, they weren’t kidding.  It puts a tremendous smile on my face to see so many books being checked out by kids, and teens, and parents, and empty nesters, and retirees ……During my first weeks here I opened a lemonade stand outside so that I could meet some of our great patrons.  Over lemonade and cookies we talked about the library and neighborhood and Fairfield. Everyone made me feel so welcome. I asked them to fill out an informal survey on programs they might like to see here at “The woods”.  They had some great ideas and I’m happy to say we’ve got some outstanding programs coming up.  Gardening, an author visit, and a great one on the Tudors, lead by Mona Garcia, one of our part-time staff, but more about those later.  “The woods” blog is going to be a place for you to meet some of our outstanding staff.  We’ve got stories, ideas, and programming information to share with you.  I’m thrilled to be part of such a vibrant community.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

