Posted by: whimsicallibrarians | September 21, 2007

College countdown

I can still remember those very stressful days and weeks when my daughter and son started thinking about and then submitting applications to colleges.  Talk about stress!  Visiting colleges, having interviews, thinking about the college essays….In fact, when my daughter and I went on one of our many college trips to visit Boston College I had come down with strep throat.  I can’t even remember the last time I had strep throat before that awful day and I don’t know how I got through the “interview” we both had to sit through. Even though those days were full of excitement, I am so glad they are over.  Both of my kids went off to college, got through the four years and are now happily pursuing careers.  If you are in the beginning stages of College prep you might want to register for an upcoming program at our branch.  I think it’s going to be very helpful and informative.  Author Don Dunbar is a veteran counselor who has written the book “What you don’t know can keep you out of college.” He’ll be visiting us on September 29th at 2:00.  Mr. Dunbar unlocks the college admissions door and tells what admissions officers are really looking for.  He enlightens readers as to what character means.  He will answer many of your questions and maybe help you organize your college adventure to make it a little bit easier. Registration is required so visit our events calendar and sign up today.  I hope to see you at “the woods” and happy college hunting!

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

