Posted by: whimsicallibrarians | October 1, 2007

“I’m so excited about my new job” pie

I was talking to a friend of mine the other day about one of our favorite movies, “Waitress.” It’s about a waitress named Jenna who dreams up all different type of pies to fit her mood at the moment.  Jenna is a pie maker supreme.  She’s trying to come up with a special pie to enter into a $25,000 pie contest.  If she wins she wants to get away from her husband and begin a new life.  The pies she develops are incredible.  The customers in the diner that she works at are the happy recipients of all her concoctions.  The ingredients at times are odd, but when you see Jenna mixing them all together with such grace, emotion and imagination, well it makes you want to go into your kitchen and make pies.  As I was talking to my friend, she had just made an “I’m so excited about my new job lemon pie.”  I remembered this great pie I had made many, many years ago.  I thought it would be the perfect pie for me to make to celebrate her good news.  It was a pie recipe I had gotten out of the Hartford Courant’s recipe exchange.  I found the recipe using our on-line resources here at the library and I thought this might be an impromptu database searching hunt for you all.  If you follow these directions you will find a pie recipe that you can call “I’m so glad we have a library database” pie.  So here goes, oh, please let me know if you find it.

  1. Go to http://www.fairfieldpubliclibrary.org/
  2. In search our site click on databases.
  3. Click on Periodicals/Magazines.
  4. Scroll down to iCONN Newspaper Collection, click on connect from home/office.
  5. Once you’ve entered iCONN you will need to input your library card number at the top of the screen, to access the full-text articles at the Courant. Make sure to hit the login button
  6. You will have then entered the iCONN database.  Click on Databases selected.
  7. On the next page unclick ProQuest Newspapers – click on Hartford Courant, then click on the yellow “Continue” button at the top of the screen.
  8. In the basic search string (click on the green “Basic” tab ot the top of the screen) type in apple pie recipe, pull down the Date range tab and click on before this date.  Type in 12/30/1994 and then click on the yellow search button.
  9. Click on “Recipe Exchange”/full-text. After the Abstract (summary), scroll down a little and you will have found my “I’m so glad we have a library database”, also known as almond apple pie.  It’s delicious, ENJOY, and take a lesson from the “Waitress”, making pies can be a beautiful and delicious outlet.

You’ve now had a lesson in retrieving from our on-line databases. You can find all kinds of wonderful information here.  Now that you have dabbled in it a little, scroll around – enjoy your wealth.

Nancy

 

 

 

  

Leave a Reply

Categories

