Posted by: whimsicallibrarians | December 31, 2007

Getting Organized??!!!####???

My husband and I have just moved into a new house and we have boxes everywhere!!  Trying to find a document for our transition from Florida to Connecticut has been a nightmare.   We have boxes and bags and folders full of paper, and I’m slowly trying to get organized. 

I  love watching those shows on the HGTV channel about organizing, and seeing all the “stuff” people cannot seem to get rid of. I’m happy to say my husband and I don’t even come close to the way some of those houses look, the clutter!!.  Fortunately we are both kind of neat freaks and me being a librarian….well you get the picture.  Getting our house in order quick is something that just has to happen. 

For those of you who may be making that all to familiar New Year’s Resolution: “this year I will throw out my 35 year old sons baby blanket (along with all his other accumulated stuff he’s dropped off here) and buy some beautiful Pottery Barn baskets to neatly place on my newly aquired Ikea bookshelves”,  I’m so excited to tell you about an upcoming program we are having here at the branch, that might actually start you on the right path.  A panel of organizing experts will be visiting us to help us decipher what is trash, what’s a keepsake, what do we keep, and where do we store it all. 

 If you want to get a head start on your organizing dilemma, we’ve got some great books to help.  Check out “Simplify your space: create order and reduce stress” and Easy home organizer: 15-minute step by step solutions” as well as Rightsizing your life” – or a host of other titles in the 640’s.  I’ll be at the “Get Organized” program on Saturday, January 12th, from 1:00pm-2:30pm and I hope you can make it to.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

