Posted by: whimsicallibrarians | May 14, 2008

Gardening 101

It’s been awhile since I dug a shovel into any type of soil to plant something but ever since reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle I’ve been thinking more and more about eating fresh and locally.

What better way to do this than to become Farmer Nancy and plant a vegetable garden.  So after going through tons of gardening and vegetable growing, and “how to eat organic” books I was ready to begin the journey.  I called into assistance my two kids and my husband.  Using some land at my brother’s farm we took our shovels, and rakes and hoes and got down and dirty.  Ya know getting a plot of land ready for planting is hard work! I had forgotten that part, of course being much older than the last time I did this could be a factor!  My son, daughter and I began the exhausting task of turning over the soil and getting it ready for the plants. This was done somewhat quickly because of John and Beth’s strength and diligence.  Thank goodness they both agreed to help me or I may have given up, packed up and headed on home with garden failure written all over my forehead!

I love reading and I love beautiful books and innovative libraries, there’s something inspiring and enriching and comforting about them and I was getting that same type of feeling working in this garden.  It was a beautiful day, I had my two kids helping me (my husband headed home after the first eventful shovelful) and it was inspiring and enriching and comforting when I put my hands in the soil and began planting our crop.  I’ll keep you posted as we go along, I’ve got one strawberry plant (not sure if the critters would get to it, so it’s an experiment) some lettuce, radishes and carrots planted so far.  Waiting to plant the rest as the weather warms up.

I’m thinking of doing a funky scarecrow to stand guard in the plot.  Maybe a cute librarian type  holding a book about crows!

Nancy

Responses

  1. Good luck on your garden!!!! How fun to start a whole new adventure…

  2. outdone says : I absolutely agree with this !


Leave a Reply

Categories

