Posted by: whimsicallibrarians | July 17, 2008

Peter Rabbit and Mr. McGregor

Do you remember the story of Peter Rabbit.  He wanted to enter into Mr. McGregor’s garden so badly, even though his mother told him not to.  Well, I had my own Peter Rabbit enter into my garden this past weekend.  Who would have thought it could be so traumatic, not for the rabbit, but for me!!!  I just couldn’t believe it, that this cute,fluffy, adorable rabbit would actually do all he could to get through my fence and double wrapped deer netting into my garden.  I know, I know the vegetables are looking particularly gorgeous and healthy and delicious, who wouldn’t want to chomp on some, but to dig “deep down and under” to sabotage them….geesh, I can understand poor Mr. Mcgregor’s frustration but how can you stay angry at something so cute!  So I went into my brother’s barn and found a bunch of pins that can tack down the netting.  I banged so many of those things around the circumference, of the netting, that I’m really feeling good about outsmarting my garden intruder.  I’ll keep you posted.  The cukes are delicious as are the peas and tomatoes.  I’m not sick of yellow squash yet but might be getting to my limit soon.

An update on our teen room.  The painters have arrived and are doing a really great job transforming our downstairs space.  The teen librarians and I are going to IKEA next week to start looking for furniture and rugs and pillows and such.  The teens have been busy helping Jen get ready for her fall programming.  She’s planning a teen/grade school event once a month based upon popular kids books.  The first one will be on the “Diary of a Wimpy kid” series, it’ll be happening in September.  I’ve also met with our facilitator for our evening International Book Club group.  She’s got the first 3 books chosen for October,(“Suite Francaise”) November,(“Daughter of Fortune“) and December (“Brothers“).  The fall programming here at the branch is shaping up quite nicely and I think we’ll be offering things that will interest many of our neighborhood friends.

Have you read the newest Harlan Coben book yet?  It’s called “Hold Tight“, check it out, you won’t be able to put it down.

Keep reading!

Nancy

Responses

  1. cute post. love reading about your library


Leave a Reply

Categories

